You, my antagonist, in that splintering dream…

Once again I am delighted to join the Absolute Write blog chain. This month the theme is antagonists. There are two parts to the challenge: 1) Describe the antagonist in your novel in 50 words or less. 2)  What would you say to your antagonist if you met him or her in real life? Post a scene in response to this question in 100 words or less.

Although I rarely suffer from writer’s block, for this challenge I just could not decide which antagonist to describe and chat with. I had a line of poetry lodged in my head, refusing to budge and blocking any further thoughts of antagonists I have known and loved. There was nothing I could do except track down that damned obstinate line. Maybe once I’d found it I’d be able to get on with the challenge. The line — You, my antagonist, in that splintering dream — was definitely one of Pablo Neruda’s. I went through my volumes and found the poem ‘The Woes and the Furies.’ As I turned to the page an old, brown, dead flower fell out. I remembered it had once been a perfect wildflower, plucked in springtime amid the ancient Mycenaean ruins of Tiryns.  Ah, I thought…Greece. And just like that I selected the antagonist Olympia Philou from my forthcoming novella Blue Galaxy (which had the working title – Greeks in Space) And so works the mind of a rather disorganized writer.

***

Olympia Philou is stone cold nuts. She runs the Valhalla space station as her own fiefdom, using brutality and torture to retain her hold, terrorizing the population into abject obedience. She’s beautiful, lethal and completely unaware of her own insanity. Sex is a game that she plays to the death.

***

The Interview:

Me: What are your hobbies?

Olympia: Ruling my domain, designing sexy outfits and playing high-stakes Scrabble.

Me: How high are the stakes?

Olympia: If you don’t win or if you beat me — I’ll fucking kill you.

Me: What do you say to those people who consider you completely psychotic?

Olympia: I’m not completely psychotic. I’m completely evil. There’s a difference.

Me: What is your fondest memory?

Olympia: One day there was an awful lot of torturing to be done, so I thought I’d help out my loyal minions. It was fascinating seeing the ways I could make blood gush or trickle or spurt. And such wonderful fun!

***

Please click the links to meet an interesting array of antagonists. I’ll be updating the links as people join the chain. It’s said you can be judged by the company you keep. If that’s so I am pleased to be judged by the company I keep with the following writers:

Proach: http://desstories.blogspot.com direct link to my post
Steam&Ink: http://steamandink.blogspot.com/ direct link to her post
AuburnAssassin: http://clairegillian.com/ direct link to her post
You are here.
xcomplex: www.arielemerald.blogspot.com direct link to her post
LadyMage: http://katherinegilraine.com/ direct link to her post
aimeelain: www.aimeelaine.com/blog direct link to her post
jonbon.benjamin: http://jonbonbenjamin.blogspot.com/ direct link to his post
Ralph Pines: http://ralfast.wordpress.com direct link to his post
orion mk3: http://nonexistentbooks.wordpress.com/ direct link to his post
knotane: http://knotane.wordpress.com/ direct link to post
ElizaFaith13: http://girlspwn.blogspot.com/ direct link to her post

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Hops and Chains, Science Fiction and Science Fiction Romance, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to You, my antagonist, in that splintering dream…

  1. Haha…I think I remember Olympia! Good choice. Didn’t the hero try to hide behind the heroine’s skirts from her because they had a past? Nice dialogue.

  2. A woman not to be messed with! I also liked the working title “Greeks in Space”… ;)

  3. Aimee Laine says:

    Ok … ewwwwwwwwwwwwww! ;)

  4. C.H. says:

    As food is enhanced by bacon, so working titles are enhanced by the phrase “in Space”. ;)

    Evil scrabble, I like. :)

  5. Proach says:

    Ooooh, she sounds just awful…no that is an understatement. That is one person I definately don’t want to mee.

  6. Eliza Tilton says:

    High stakes scrabble? ROFL. I need to see that!

  7. Pingback: AW February Blog Chain: Antagonists | The Word Busker

  8. Trisha says:

    Holy moly, she is evil! LOL.

  9. Pingback: February Blog Chain: Antagonists | Neither Here nor There….

  10. alexp01 says:

    Very funny in an OTT kind of way. Is the story supposed to have comedic or satirical overtones, or is it just the one character?

  11. Pingback: From “The Baroness in Winter” by Altos Wexan « Excerpts From Nonexistent Books

  12. Pingback: Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday | Diane Dooley

Leave a Reply

