The 2nd Annual Out Of This World Blog Tour

I am delighted to have as my guest, author Frances Pauli, as part of the 2nd Annual Out Of This World Blog Tour. Welcome, Frances!
Wrangling the Infinite 

I’ve always claimed that I like to write Speculative Romance because of the infinite possibilities. In SFR specifically, an author can play with infinite worlds, environments, alien races, and scenarios that, to me, seem nearly without limits. Since I’m not big on boundaries, I find that incredibly alluring.

In my Shift Happens series the infinite came into play in a different way, however, and it opened a whole new perspective on too much of a good thing. I deal with multiple dimensions in the books, and along with that, multiple parallels or versions of my characters. So where my protagonist in her home universe is a rather ordinary girl, in any number of other dimensions, she might be a star, a criminal, a lunatic, or a sea slug.

Yes, I tried the sea slug. To be fair, it was a giant, Lemurian sea slug, and quite lovely.

So after the initial excitement of infinite parallel characters wore off a little, I got to thinking about reactions, and relationships. Theoretically, in the Shift universe, one cannot come into contact with their own parallels. It’s a natural law more than a social one, and works like gravity, or magnetism in reverse. You just can’t go there. Still, the idea of infinite versions of “you” running around will have an effect on a person. My job, as I saw it, was to sort out what that effect was for each character.

I’ve read that the things we hate most about others are the traits that remind us of our own flaws. Imagine then, a universe full of different versions of yourself. Would you despise them all? Envy them? Fear them? What if they were better off–famous, rich, talented? On a more positive note, what if they were in danger and you knew it? What if you could help?

I found quite rapidly that each of my characters reacted differently to the idea. Of course, for seasoned dimensional veterans, the idea of parallels ranged from a rather Zen, “just don’t think about it too much,” to the cocky, “I bet they’re all as hot as I am.” But for my poor newbies to the concept of multiple selves, the idea proved distracting, terrifying, and fascinating alternately.

Having infinite parallels is not without its risks, either. Could you be blamed for the criminal acts of one of your doubles? I should think they’d at least try it. What if one of your parallels lost their marbles, say, and tried to kill off or collect all of their doubles?  Can a person become so “aspect obsessed,” or addicted to seeking information on their own parallels, that it turns into an addiction? Oh yes. I have a whole, Betty Ford style treatment center for just that affliction.

What if someone could contact their aspects? I mean most natural laws can be circumventing eventually, possibly… Then of course, as a romance author, I have to think, what if you fell in love with—for lack of a better term—yourself?

Now, that, I haven’t tried yet. Don’t tempt me. There are more books to come.

But it’s an intriguing thought, isn’t it? What do you suppose your reaction would be to an alternate gender version of yourself? Love or murder? I wonder if I could pull off both.

Thanks so much for having me on the blog!
~Frances

Aspect Ratio
Shift Happens Book Two
By Frances Pauli

Chloe Watson is just starting to get used to her inter-dimensional career, her covert relationship with the boss and her life as a cross dimensional traveler. Then a last minute promotion, a galaxy wide tournament and an unexpected stow-away manage to throw a wrench in her status quo.

Now she’s left to sort out a string of parallel abductions, deal with an infestation of Lemurian bedbugs and get her local pet store associate back home before the woman blows the whistle on everything Chloe had going for her.

Just for fun, her relationship starts looking more than a little rocky, her job is on the line and her boyfriend/boss is keeping secrets that could cost them both a lot more than just their salaries.

http://www.mundania.com/book.php?title=Aspect+Ratio

Frances Pauli writes Speculative Fiction with romantic tendencies. Her Urban Fantasy trilogy, The Changeling Race is published through Mundania Press LLC and the Shift Happens science fiction series is available through their Awe-Struck imprint. She publishes romance stories through Devine Destinies and has recently released book one of her Space Slugs serial on Amazon and Smashwords.

More info on Frances and her writing can be found at:  http://francespauli.com
Frances is giving away a copy of one of her books. Please indicate which you prefer in your comment. Thanks!

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Hops and Chains, Guest Posts, Science Fiction and Science Fiction Romance, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The 2nd Annual Out Of This World Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: The Second Out Of This World Blog Tour, Sept. 17th – 25th, 2011 | Diane Dooley

  2. Lisa Lane says:

    One of my favorite aspects to writing any kind of science fiction, be it romantic, erotic, or otherwise, is the list of infinite possibilities we sci-fi writers have at our disposal. I think my proudest moment in writing erotic SFR was when I succeeded in having a character make love to a galaxy. I’m sure we all have experimented with just how different and interesting we can make our sci-fi–and that’s half the fun of writing it.

    I love the idea of writing a book across dimensions, Frances. What a way to truly put infinity at your fingertips!

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    “Infinity at your fingertips.” What a wonderful phrase, Lisa!

  4. AnnaM. says:

    The limitless possibilities are the main reason I adore SF, but more than that is that in SF those possibilites really ARE possible. Just look at the Communicator, er… cell phone! LOL. How many inventors have been inspired by SF to realize those dreams? How many more are to come?

  5. Sandra says:

    Shift Happens please, looks good!

  6. Frances says:

    Thanks so much! And YES, the idea that the infinite possibilities might actually be possible, plausible, likely…that is the part that just gives me shivers. :)
    How Star Trek Changed the World–A great example.

    And if Lisa could please tell us where she did the galaxy lovemaking scene? I think I must read it.
    Awesome idea.

    Frances

  7. Marlene says:

    SF Romance is always out of this world. Star Trek did change the world. How many people went into the space program, or became engineers, or scientists, because they got hooked on Trek?

    I would love a copy of Dimensional Shift. I can’t stand not to start with the first book in a series.

    Thanks!
    Marlene

  8. >Then of course, as a romance author, I have to think, what if you fell in love with—for lack of a better term—yourself?

    I’d read it! That idea would make a cool short story. A totally f****d up one, but cool nonetheless.

    I’ve been thinking about seeing ANOTHER EARTH (2011), which explores alternate reality/parallelism themes (no romance as far as I know). Here’s the IMDB.com link:

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1549572/

  9. Frances says:

    Thanks to everyone who came by and posted and to those who didn’t comment as well. A big thanks to Diane for hosting my visit too. :)
    I determined a winner via a high-tech selection process,. (I rolled a die) and Sandra has won her choice of a copy of any one of my books.
    *clapping*
    Sandra, please email me at author@francespauil.com with your choice and what format you prefer, pdf, print, etc. If you like print, I’ll need a snail mail addy, and if you want Shift Happens, the first book in the series is The Dimensional Shift.

    Thanks again everyone!
    Frances

  10. Diane Dooley says:

    Congratulations, Sandra! *claps*

    Thank you, Frances, for visiting. *high five*

  11. Frances says:

    Does anyone have Sandra’s email address or contact info? I’m wondering if she knows she won. :)
    Sandra?
    hallooooo.

    I can’t see one in the comments.
    Frances

  12. Your stories sound fascinating. I love the possibilities of parallel worlds.

  13. Dale Long says:

    Parallel universes, what a great way to stretch the writing muscles! Hmmm… I may have to give it a go now. Less romance of course, but then having said that I look back on my book and see lots of romance. Unintentional but inevitable I guess.

    Great interview!

  14. Frances says:

    Oh, I have tried so many times to write without the romance. My characters refuse to cooperate. Hopeless flirts, all of them. :) Good luck and if you do play in alternate worlds, have a blast and we’ll keep our eyes out for the result!

    thanks

Leave a Reply

