Absolute Writers: Focus on S.A. Meade

Being a regular at the Absolute Write Water Cooler means I get to meet lots and lots of writers, both published and unpublished. My guest today is someone I “met” before either of us was published, but even back then I had her pegged as one who was likely to succeed. A few years later, S.A. Meade has had several books published and I don’t doubt she will continue her success.

* * * * *

Dooley: Tell us about your books. What do you write?

Meade: I write M/M erotic romance. Mainly contemporary, although I have a series in the works, the first three of which are historical.

Dooley: Why m/m? What is its particular appeal to you?

Meade: I’m not entirely sure why I like it so much. I think I just find it easier to write from a man’s POV. It’s different from the m/f stuff I was writing before. It’s fun trying to get into a man’s head.

Dooley: What was your first published piece?

Meade:  ‘Stolen Summer’ was my first. It was published at the end of August last year.

Dooley: What is your most recent publication?

Meade: ‘Biscuits and Bunting’, it was part of Total E-Bound’s Diamond Jubilee Collection.  I have a new one coming out at the end of the summer, it’s the first of a series entitled ‘The Endersley Papers’. This book is called ‘Lord of Endersley’ and is partly set in India during the Sepoy Insurrection of 1857. I’ve always wanted to write a novel set in India at that time.

Dooley: Which authors inspired you to write?

Meade: Oh, heavens. So many. I was always a rabid reader. I think Rosemary Jarman Hawley would be who I’d consider the biggest inspiration. She wrote several historical novels back in the seventies. I remember reading ‘We Speak No Treason’, about Richard III and just falling in love with the way she wrote. Gorgeous descriptions and just some heartbreaking prose.

Dooley: Which author would you most like to chat with over a good meal and why?

Meade: Another toughie. I think it would have to be Stephen King. I love his views on writing and I just get the feeling he’d be an entertaining dinner guest.  But, since that’s unlikely to happen, I’d be chuffed to bits to have dinner with my buddy, Emmy Ellis who writes as Natalie Dae and Sarah Masters.

Dooley: What are the last three books you read?

Meade: ‘Into the Valley of Death’ by A.L.Berridge. (An historical novel about the Charge of the Light Brigade. Absolutely fantastic.) ; Purly Gates by Vastine Bondurant (An M/M historical set in California in the 1930s – Atmospheric and haunting.) ; Saviours of Oestend (an M/M fantasy by Marie Sexton – Great worldbuilding).

Dooley: What do you do when you’re not writing?

Meade: I have a full time job. But, when I’m not working or writing, I love to cook and I somehow manage to find time to read.

Dooley: What is your best advice for an aspiring writer?

Meade: Keep at it. Accept criticism with grace. Always accept that there will always be room for improvement.

Dooley: Where in the world would you most like to visit?

Meade: I’ve been lucky to have travelled quite a bit in my dim and distant past, mainly to far away exotic places. So, I’d really like to visit come places a little closer to home, like Italy and Spain.

Dooley: What are your favorite places to visit on the web?

Meade: Absolute Write, Facebook and Twitter.

Dooley: Where can readers find you?

Meade: BlogFacebookTwitter.

Dooley: Thanks so much for submitting to my questions, S.A. Good luck with all your writing endeavors!

 

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Romance Novels, The Book Pile and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Absolute Writers: Focus on S.A. Meade

  1. Luke Walker says:

    Very interesting to read an interview with a writer who writes in a completely different area to me. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

