The Unknown Factor: Introducing Angela Renee

I am delighted to welcome debut author, Angela Renee, to my blog. Say hi, everyone!

* * * * *
I’m a tad bit of a control freak. I didn’t realize how much until recently when I took note of how much research I placed into publishing my debut novel, You Are Mine. I’m comfortable with organization and plans, but what happens when the unknown factor in an equation is so large that no matter how much you prepare for an event you can’t calculate the outcome of said event? Currently, I’m in this situation with my sci-fi romance You Are Mine.

I’m an avid reader. I read traditionally and self-published novels and enjoy and dislike both from time to time. It depends on the piece. But what makes a novel become a best seller or not? I’ve read many great novels that sell little and really sucky ones that you see blasted all over the place, so it’s not just quality or marketing. There’s an unknown factor at play that I wish I could bottle and sell.

I’ve spoken to numerous published authors that say not to worry, concentrate on sales numbers for my first title. That once I have a few titles under my belt, as readers discover me they’ll go back for my previous titles also. Oooookay, how realistic is that? What do you do? Cage your ego and say stay there until you have a few titles out. Don’t get me wrong. I understand what the authors mean, and I’ll try, but that doesn’t mean it will be easy.

I’m curious. How do you deal with the unknown factors that make it more difficult yet exciting at the same time? Maybe I should draw upon the strength of the heroine in You Are Mine. She’s literally kidnapped by aliens. Talk about an unknown factor!

Here’s a little about my debut Sci-Fi Romance novel, You Are Mine. I hope you enjoy and please spread the word about it. Help me defeat the unknown factor.

In the hundreds of special assignments Erica Morgan has worked, there was nothing that prepared her for waking one morning on an alien spaceship. More surprisingly, her captor and adversary, the leader of this mission, is the one man who could make her want to leave her home planet and embrace a different life.

D’Jarus Commodore doesn’t want a wife, but his planet is slowly dying, and their salvation lies in the people of Earth. As leader of Darien, he chooses to make a sacrifice and be the first to marry a terran. His captive bride, Erica, is like no other being he has ever met. At first sight he knows he must have her, but for obvious reasons—he did kidnap her after all—she resists him every step of the way.

Buy links: Purchase the Print Version ($9.99) or the electronic version Nook, Kindle ($3.99)

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Angela-Renee/224764087637836
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/angelareneebook

Website/Blog: http://www.authorangelarenee.com/

Diane, thank you for allowing me to take over your piece of the cyber world.

* * * * *

Absolutely my pleasure, Angela. Wishing you best of luck with that “unknown factor.” Thanks for visiting!

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Guest Posts, Romance Novels, Science Fiction and Science Fiction Romance, The Book Pile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

