Five Anti-War Songs and a YouTube Addiction

Courtesy of erjkpunczyk/flickr

Courtesy of erjkpunczyk/flickr

*sigh* A YouTube addiction is a serious thing, you know. The time I have to put into it boggles the mind! Hours go by and I find myself watching live performances of people I’ve never heard from countries I’ve never visited and whose language I don’t speak. I love it. *sigh*

Sometimes I wonder if there are others out there like me. Sometimes I start making lists of musical themes I want to blog about. So here goes.

I was on an anti-war song kick recently, and started making a list of my favorites. The list went on and one, so I sub-themed it, then sub-sub-themed it. (I can hear you! Stop calling me a geek!)

So here’s my list of five great anti-war songs recorded by British artists in the 1980’s, which was a fantastic decade for music. In no particular order of preference, except for the last, which is one of the greatest and saddest songs ever written. Hats off to Eric Bogle.

1) Red Army Blues  by the Waterboys (1984)

Is it an anti-war song or an anti-Stalin song? I can’t decide. I just know I love it. My husband doesn’t, objecting to the length and the bombastic saxaphone. What is your opinion? Too much? Leonard Winters does a superb job of editing old footage to this song. Many powerful images, and be warned… many disturbing ones.

2) Enola Gay by Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (1980)

Painful and haunting. Thoughtful and addictive. Synthpop taken to another level. Simply perfection.

3) Army Dreamers by Kate Bush (1980)

A song as unique, original, intense and eccentric as its writer and performer.

4) Island of No Return by Billy Bragg (1984)

A song about the Falklands War. There aren’t too many of them, and certainly none with this kind of ferocity and sadness. Slideshow courtesy of zzjabzz.

5) And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda by the Pogues (1985)

Many artists have recorded this song, but none match the gruff tenderness of the Pogues’ Shane McGowan, spitting out the brutal lines with complete and utter believability. majorsnag does an excellent job with images and editing.

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in I Call It Genius, Other Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Anti-War Songs and a YouTube Addiction

  1. Great list. Love Kate Bush.
    It’s not a British anti-war song, but “Where Have All the Flowers Gone” is pretty powerful in its simplicity.

Leave a Reply

