The Bookpile: My Ongoing Kindle Addiction

It’s a good thing my husband doesn’t read this blog. He  doesn’t need to know how much money I’m spending on books. If he was to find out I’d be really hard pressed to continue my complaints about his penchant for spending good money on top-of-the-line single malt whiskey and vintage wing tip shoes. So don’t tell him, y’hear?

After reading Paolo Bacigalupi’s ‘The Windup Girl’ I found I needed to hunt down his back list and read every single word the man ever wrote. I can’t wait to read his ‘Pump Six and Other Stories.’ I hope these stories are as depressingly grim and beautiful as the related novel.

I’m saving this one for a sunny day. I was depressed for weeks after ‘The Windup Girl.’

And while I was on my sci-fi kick I decided it was time to try out some Jacqueline Lichtenberg. Just look at that old skool pulp cover. I can’t wait to see what lies behind it.

I’m saving this one for a boring lazy Sunday when I think I might go crazy if I don’t get a little excitement.

I really enjoyed Julia Knight’s ‘Ten Ruby Trick,’ so I decided to give ‘Ilfayne’s Bane’ a try. I can get a bit sqeamish with fantasy. I think that, as a child, I must have been savagely bitten by a dogeared copy of Lord of the Rings. But I enjoy her writing style so much I think I’ll be able overlook any annoyingly beauteous elf people (if there even are any)

I’m saving this one for those long evenings at my son’s wrestling practice. It’ll help distract me from all that grunting and sweating coming from the wrestling mat. I hope.

I’d been trying to wait until Joanna Bourne’s wonderful Spymaster series was finished before I started reading them. I’m notoriously impatient when it comes to series and in this case my patience cracked. I bought all three that are so far written and released. I tore through ‘The Spymaster’s Lady’ in less than twenty four hours, am pacing myself a little better on ‘My Lord and Spymaster’ and am looking forward to ‘The Forbidden Rose.’ These are some of the best romance novels I’ve ever read. Absolutely lush and passionate and beautifully written.

I’m not saving these at all. They’re too irresistible.

Thanks to that lovely turkey over at JLCwrites, I’ve been checking out the free editions of the classics at the Kindle book store.

I have two lovely books I’m looking forward to reading. First I found Jane Austen’s ‘Lady Susan.’ I’d never even heard of it even though I consider myself an Austen fangirl.

And then I found a Charlotte Bronte book I’d heard of, but had never got around to reading. I can’t believe that they were free. What a deal! Maybe hubby can keep his vintage shoe habit after all.

I’m saving these for my other son’s basketball practice, rare lunch breaks at work and while the kids are watching Harry Potter movies again and again.

It occurs to me that I’m not getting as much of my own writing done as I should be. What a shocker!

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in The Book Pile. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Bookpile: My Ongoing Kindle Addiction

  1. I’ve never heard of Lady Susan either (though I must have it, since I have this huge book with tiny print called “The Complete Works of Jane Austen”). I HAVE, on the other hand read Villette. It was good, but no Jane Eyre. I just bought the first Spymaster book a few weeks ago but haven’t queued it up to read yet. I’ve had Julia Knight’s stuff on my list for eons but haven’t gotten to them yet. I read your review of her pirate one and have put it in my shopping cart but not yet made the purchase.

    And thus, in summary, I too am glad that the Kindle makes concealment of my excesses so simple. LOL Happy reading.

  2. What a nice variety! These are good rec’s too! Don’t worry, your secret is safe with us 😀

  3. JLC says:

    Glad you are enjoying the freebies! You’ve suggested some fun reading material too! I’ll have to load them up on my Kindle as well. I won’t tell your hubs if you don’t tell mine. 😉

    Thanks for the recs and the mention!

  4. Amy says:

    I MUST try Paolo Bacigalupi now. That cover is far to irresistible. This is a great list! I’ve heard such wonderful things about JOB, that I think I’ll likely break my seldom romance reading habit to read hers. I do hope you enjoy Ilfayne. I know I did. Julia has a way with fantasy. No elves. 🙂

  5. Michael Dooley says:

    I am sorry to tell you that I do read your blog…..not really a cyber stalker, just a loving husband….

    But honey, you need help.

    It started just after Christmas. Slowly almost imperceptibly, not really taking care of yourself, the kids , the house, to the level that you usually do. Face stuck into your Blue Leather Kindle holder making comments about how great or terrible a book is.

    Next thing I know I’m standing at a cash register and DECLINED comes across the card reader. Impossible. I rush home to check the finances online….Amazon Kindle, then gas, groceries. Then Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, store, gas, bills , bills. Then Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle, Amazon Kindle.

    Thank you, Amazon….. You’ve taken my coffee swilling wife and turned her into a crack head

    Honey, I implore you…the electricity’s already off, the kids have no shoes, the mortgage delinquent…….get the help you need.

  6. Sonia M. says:

    Too funny! I’ve been kicking around the idea of getting a Kindle but I’m afraid I won’t be able to control my book habit either.

Leave a Reply

