Fangs For The Memories

Vampires. I used to love them, but that’s all over now. Back in the day they were horrible scary monsters who would suck all the blood out of your body leaving you dead. They were monstrous and evil and merciless. They were cruel and heartless and hungry.

Nowadays they’re gone all soft. They have tender feelings. They fall in love, are filled with the deepest angst and they’re usually beautiful. They feel pain and empathy and guilt. That’s so wrong!

Ugh. They’re supposed to be monsters, dammit! I want the scary monsters back!

One day I got to wondering what the old school vampires would think of their modern day counterparts. I think they’d be appalled – and maybe even depressed. And so a short wee story was born about an ancient vampire trying to cope in the modern world. It was recently published.  I hope you’ll check it out.

Down For The Count

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Horror and Dark Fantasy, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fangs For The Memories

  1. soap says:

    If it helps, I happen to think Bill from True Blood is ugly. *shrug* (but don’t tell him I said that)

    Congrats on Down For The Count!

  2. Diane Dooley says:

    Bill IS ugly. And he whines. And he calls his girlfriend “Sucky.” That’s SO rude.

    I had hopes of the tall, blonde vampire on True Blood. He seemed nicely evil for a while. But then he went and fell in love with Sucky, too. That’s so wrong.

  3. JLC says:

    Poor Count! All he wants is some blood thirsty violence! Great story, and I love the title! Very cleaver.. er … clever. 🙂

  4. ralfast says:

    Yeah, after the twinkle and sparkle of the Mormon Novel (like the Scottish Play beware of speaking the name aloud!) I wrote my bad guys my UF novel as nasty as they could be. Sure they are handsome and terribly rich, but sparkly they are not!

    😀

  5. Pingback: Sunday Tweet: Fangs for the Memories | Neither Here nor There….

  6. ralfast says:

    DD I hope you don’t mind that I, well, “borrowed” your idea and ran with it for my Sunday Tweet Post:

    http://ralfast.wordpress.com/2011/05/15/sunday-tweet-fangs-for-the-memories

  7. I also miss scary, “all I want to do is suck your blood and kill you, or turn you”- vamps.

    That said, the vampire with a conscience isn’t new. Barnabas from the 60s show, Dark Shadows, resented having been literally cursed into one and did try to find cures for it. However, he could be totally brutal and murderous toward his enemies.

    Also , the romantic vampire can be found in old literature.

    I don’t mind vampires with human feelings. After all, they were once human.

    I just can’t stand the whiny, whimpy ones.

    • Diane Dooley says:

      I don’t think I’ve ever seen Dark Shadows. I grew up in the UK and I don’t remember it being shown there.

      I take your point about it being okay for vampires to have feelings. It just seems it’s gone a bit too far.

  8. Just read your story. Oh, that was brilliant! I literally did laugh out loud at the sparkles bit.

  9. Dale Long says:

    The melancholy vampire.

    You’ve managed to instill feelings into this vampire without the angst. Just resignation.

    From one ‘old school’ vampyre fan to another, well done! Horror without humour is a pale imitation.

Leave a Reply

