My Top Five Terrible Writing Habits

All writers have them. I’m going to be flat out honest and tell you mine.

1. Undisciplined: I really should be finishing up that chapter, but it’s a beautiful day outside and I really would rather be playing baseball. *grabs mitt*

2. Easily distracted: I really ought to polish this scene, but hubby came home and he really is great company. *grabs husband*

3. Adverbose: I really must get out of the habit of splattering my prose with adverbs, but the English language really could use more interesting verbs. *grabs thesaurus*

4. Comma splicer: I really, really should remove, at least, five, maybe four, of the commas from this one dainty, little sentence, but they’re so damn pretty. *grabs editor*

5. Internet addiction: I really need to get this novel started, but, ooh look, there’s a terrific website completely devoted to ways to waste time on the internet! *grabs valium*

Anyone brave or stupid enough to share theirs? C’mon, make me feel better.

P.S. I really should stop using “really” so much.

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Top Five Terrible Writing Habits

  1. Dale Long says:

    I’m guilty of 1, 2 and 5.

    Well, maybe not 2 exactly. Maybe 2 should have an amendment, a 2a, where husband can be substituted with wife, or the kids getting home, or traffic on the road or… Ooooo squirrel!

    Ok, I suffer from 4 as well.

  2. Dale Day says:

    #5 hits me where it smarts!
    I’ve got two projects to finish and a whole lot of work on some old books.
    But, here I am.

  3. Laurel says:

    I’m the worst with 5. My blog and Absolute Write are my top internet vices.

    As for the writing itself, I tend to split myself in too many different directions at once. I’m horrible at starting a new project before I’m done with my current one(s). I can’t seem to commit to working on just one at once. Three or four is usually where I end up. It’s not good.

  4. JLCwrites says:

    This is a good idea! Stacey recently did a post on guilty pleasures that I wanted to do too. Now I have two weeks worth of post ideas!

  5. Sealey says:

    I’m guilty of 5 for sure. AW and Tvtropes.org being my biggest online time sucks 😛

    But other than that, not too bad with the discipline thing. In fact the opposite. I force myself to write (or outline or brainstorm, if it’s not possible for me to write) every second that I’m not either sleeping or working. I exhaust and frustrate myself when I *should* be grabbing the mitt, or getting outside–or anything else–to just break away, to let the ideas etc. come to me.

    Second biggest issue: writing something, getting it published, then not telling anybody about it LOL. No one can sabotage my writing career as well as I can 😉

    Third biggest issue: Not enough description. I’m nearly all dialogue most of the time. I tend to keep the description in my head for some reason and then get frustrated when my readers can’t “see” what I’m talking about.

  6. Sealey says:

    *calls out* Diane? Diane?
    Oh.
    No.

Leave a Reply

