First Time in Print with “A Womb of One’s Own”

I’m pleased to announce that I’m in print for the first time. Maybe it’ll be my last, so I’m going to enjoy the moment. My short story — A Womb of One’s Own — appears in the Summer 2011 edition of Golden Visions Magazine. The cost is $10.00 for a print copy and $2.00 for a pdf version. I’m looking forward to reading the other stories in my complimentary copy.

People often ask writers where they get their ideas from. This story was born in the foothills of the Catskill Mountains, with its hidden hollows, abandoned graveyards and forgotten lives. It was inspired by one of my most treasured possessions: my battered and beaten, dog-eared and coffee-stained copy of Virginia Woolf’s essays, Women and Writing.

Should anyone wish to purchase a copy of the magazine the link is here. Scroll down to the bottom for purchase information. There are are also many online stories you can read for free on the linked page. Enjoy!

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Horror and Dark Fantasy, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to First Time in Print with “A Womb of One’s Own”

  1. Luke Walker says:

    Excellent news. Congratulations 🙂

  2. Congratulations! I’m a little surprised to hear that this is your first print publication, but may it be the first of many more to come…so long as print continues to be a popular medium of choice.

    • Diane Dooley says:

      Thanks, Claire. I hope print never goes away entirely. I love my Kindle et al, but still love holding print in my hands. I’m just an old-fashioned gal, I guess.

  3. soap says:

    I’m sure it won’t be your last appearance in print. 😉 Congrats, Diane!

  4. Oh, that’s wonderful! Congratulations!! 🙂

  5. Diane Dooley says:

    Thanks, Gypsy. Do you like the Woolf portrait?

  6. I do! And this post also reminds me I want to read more of her work.

  7. Dale Long says:

    Congrats Diane!

    Like Claire, I’m surprised it’s your first time in print. Being part of an anthology (?) is a cool experience, enjoy!

    BTW, LOVE the pictures. I often find inspiration in music and pictures very similar to these ones.

  8. Diane Dooley says:

    Thanks, Dale. Yes, music and art and poetry. That’s where most of my inspiration comes from.

Leave a Reply

