Three Films by Wim Wenders

Today I’m blogging at Contact – Infinite Futures about one of my favorite films, ‘Until The End Of The World.’ Link to my post is here. It was directed by Wim Wenders, who has made many other wonderful films, two of which are also on the list of my favorite movies of all time.

In ‘Paris, Texas,’ a man walks out of the desert after having been missing for four years. In this scene he has been reunited with his young son, whom he abandoned to the care of his brother and sister-in-law. They all watch a home movie together. Harry Dean Stanton was just amazing in this role. I wish Wim Wenders could direct my home movies.

In ‘Wings of Desire,’ invisible angels wander Cold War Era Berlin, observing and comforting mortal humans. In this scene, the late Peter Falk plays an angel who chose to become human. He describes the simple wonders of being human.

Wenders’ films are often described as slow-moving and I can’t argue with that. It doesn’t always work for me, but in the three films mentioned it works exquisitely. If you have a few hours to spare, consider checking out these films. They’re worth a part of your life. And don’t forget a big box of tissues. You might need them. I know I did.

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Other Stuff, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Three Films by Wim Wenders

  1. jes b says:

    Haha, people who say Wenders’ films are slow moving have never suffered the self-indulgent prick that is Vincent Gallo. Wings of Desire is genius, City of Angels is blasphemy :D.

    Voy

  2. Diane Dooley says:

    I refuse to acknowledge the existence of THAT film. Nope. Never happened.

  3. I’ve been wanting to see Wings of Desire. Somehow, I always seem to miss it when it’s on.

  4. JLCwrites says:

    Wow, all seem to have compelling plots. Thanks for posting this, I’ve never heard of him before.

  5. Jarrah Dale says:

    Wings of Desire is flat-out brilliant. Bravo! Great taste in directors!

Leave a Reply

