Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday

What the heck is Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday? It’s when a bunch of writers share snippets from their works. Click here to find out who else is participating, then go check out their snippets. You just might find your newest favorite writer.

My snippet this week is from my current work in progress, tentatively entitled Blue Planet. It’s the third and final in a trilogy of novellas that started with Blue Galaxy (available from Carina Press) and continued with Blue Nebula (coming soon from Carina Press). This story is from the point of view of Destin Grady. He has just been called to the bedside of a mysterious dying woman who is covered in scars.

“This looks like someone carved their initials into her skin. And over here . . .” He indicated her thigh. “This looks like tally marks. As if someone was using her to keep track of something. The rest are scars from various injures. Puncture wounds, gashes, that sort of thing.” The doctor paused to take the woman’s pulse. She had stilled, her breathing rough and shallow. “Also, when we took scans we discovered that many of her bones had been broken at some point.”

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Hops and Chains, Science Fiction and Science Fiction Romance, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday

  1. Aston West says:

    My mind is wandering to worrisome places thinking of why someone would be making tally marks on her thighs…good snippet.

  2. Agree with Aston .. this is horrible! But well written. What happened to her? Who is she?

  3. That was a great snippet to pick, Diane. I’m very curious…. 🙂

  4. Ick! Tally marks in her thighs? Makes me think of Hannibal – who fascinated me. So, I’m now fascinated. Good snippet! You got my attention.

  5. @CaryCaffrey says:

    Blech! Very nasty stuff. I guess someone couldn’t find a note-pad when they needed one. Personally, I prefer ‘stickies’.

  6. You’re supposed to use paper, woman! Sheesh!
    This woman MUST have had an interesting past. What happened? I want to know.

  7. T.K. Toppin says:

    I’m with everyone on this: Yikes! Tally marks… :/ Sounds like an amazing read…another to be added to my TBR pile up.

  8. Very intriguing! Like CSI in space–good hook!

  9. jccassels says:

    I was reminded of your snippet when I watched my DVR’d Bones episode from this week in which the killer wrote malware on the victims bones. It crashed the computers. I’m also reminded a bit of the Ewan MacGregor movie, The Pillow Book. It makes me want to know more about this woman and what happened to her.

    Great snippet!

  10. JLCwrites says:

    Yeesh! She’s been through a lot! Looks like good reading though!

  11. Why has he been called to her bedside?

  12. I want to know more about this woman!

    Also–looking forward to Blue Nebula.

  13. Misa says:

    Oh, creepy >.<
    Very interested in why she's been used in such a way and what's going to come of it.

  14. Diane Dooley says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone. Sorry if i icked you out a bit. *grin*

  15. pippajay says:

    I’m always fascinated by scars, so I’m not icked out but very intrigued. I wonder what was tallied up on her skin?

Leave a Reply

