The Reading Child

I always had my nose stuck in a book when I was a kid. I would read pretty much anything I could get my hands on, but I did have some particular favorites. Today I’m talking about three children’s books that particularly influenced me over at Sara-Jayne Townsend’s blog.

S.J. has been writing a lovely series of posts in which she remembers some of the wonderful books she read as a child and I was happy to be able to join the conversation. Please do pop over and check out her blog and my guest post.

Happy reading!

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in The Book Pile, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Reading Child

  1. ralfast says:

    Oh I remember so many stories that I read as a child. It what made me a writer today.

  2. JLCwrites says:

    Im discovering Roald Dahl now as an adult, reading chapter books to my munchkins. My husband thinks they are a bit disturbing, but the kiddos and I are enjoying Dahl’s “darker side”. He is a great writer, and his bio is interesting too!

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    Yes, we’re working our way through Roald Dahl’s kids stuff. He wrote for adults, too. Twisty, dark tales with lots of humor. I’m a huge fan.

  4. magic mint says:

    I was just thinking of James and the Giant Peach today.

  5. Dale Long says:

    I credit The Hardy Boys and Alfred Hitchcock’s Three Investigators as well as Farley Mowat for sparking my need to read. And before that Dr. Suess (seems kinda fitting).

    I never read Roald Dahl’s stuff, but one of my collegues said my character in Echoes reminds her of a Roald Dahl character so I had to look him up. Now I’m sorry I missed out on him in my youth.

Leave a Reply

