Spotlight: Jessica E. Subject and ‘Read For The Cure’

My guest today is the incredibly hard-working Jessica E. Subject. Her work ethic and support of her fellow authors is an inspiration to me. I’m also delighted to spotlight Jessica’s book, Celestial Seduction, which is Decadent Publishing‘s ‘Read For The Cure’ book this month. Kudos to Decadent for incorporating a charitable aspect into their business plan. Please do consider purchasing Jessica’s book. You’ll get a fun read and be helping out a good cause. Win-win, eh? 

* * *

Dooley: When and why did you start writing?

Subject: I’ve been writing for most of my life, producing newsletters for youth groups, and one of my workplaces. I even took a fiction writing workshop in grade seven and wrote my first romance story back then. But I did not start writing for publication until October of 2008, when the story I started to encourage my daughter to read turned into something much longer and more adult appropriate.

Dooley: What do you find so interesting about science fiction romance?

Subject: The idea of flying through the stars and the possibility of life on other planets has always fascinated me, whether scary, Earth-invading aliens or not. I hope for not.

Dooley: What are three science fiction romances you enjoyed and would like to recommend?

Subject: Just three? Okay, the first three to come to mind are Touched by an Alien by Gini Koch (and the rest of the series), Blown Away by D.L. Jackson, and The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

Dooley: Your story, Celestial Seduction, is Decadent Publishing’s ‘Read For The Cure” book this month? How does that work? Where it can be purchased?

Subject: Yes, for the month of March, ALL publisher proceeds from the sale of Celestial Seduction will be donated to the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life program. Here’s the link.

Dooley: What other stories have you had published?

Subject: Beneath the Starry Sky (a contemporary erotic romance) and Unknown Futures (a sci-fi lesbian romance) are also part of Decadent’s 1Night Stand series. Satin Sheets in Space (a sci-fi M/F/M ménage) is coming soon to the series. All four (including Celestial Seduction) of these books are interconnected in the characters they involve.

Never Gonna Let You Go is the first book in The Underground series, a sci-fi, mostly GLBT series which is set partly on a foreign planet, and also on a futuristic Earth.

I am very excited to be one of the launch authors with An Unexpected Return for a multi-author sci-fi series coming to Decadent Publishing.

And my baby, The Zurian Child, releases on March 24 from Silver Publishing. It’s not as steamy as my other stories (only 3 flames), and is the first novel in the Mark of the Stars series.

Dooley: What does a typical day in your life look like?

Subject: Hectic. LOL I get up at 5 AM, to have a shower, pack lunches, eat breakfast and check my email and start any promo for the day. Then the computer goes off, and I get the kids up and ready for school. After kid(s) are at school, I still have other kids at home (not all mine). My mornings, after that point, vary depending on the day. And I get back on the computer after lunch, during “quiet time”. Then it’s time to pick the kid(s) up, homework time, supper time, get-ready-for-bed time. Then I’ll hop back onto the computer. I take a pen and notebook (or my Kobo) with me when I’m waiting for the kids at school, or during dance classes.

Dooley: What are the last three books you read?

Subject: The last three “already released” books I’ve read are Lucy In The Sky by Barbara Elsborg, Banging the Superhero by Rebecca Royce, and Last Flight of theArkby D.L. Jackson.

Dooley: What’s up next for Jessica Subject?

Subject: Oh, gosh. Right now, I’m working on Book 2 of the Mark of the Stars series. And there are at least five more to be written (or rewritten in most cases) after that. There will be two more stories in The Underground series. I have plans for at least one more 1Night Stand story, a sequel to An Unexpected Return, a couple secret projects, and the list goes on and on and on… LOL Yeah, I need more time.

Dooley: Best of luck with all your writing endeavors, Jessica! And with finding more time *grin*

* * *

Bio: Jessica started writing to encourage her daughter to read. Now she writes to keep herself grounded. Although she reads many genres, she enjoys writing Science Fiction Romance the most and believes everyone in the universe deserves a happily ever after. She lives in Southwestern Ontario,Canada with her husband and two kids and loves to hear from anyone who has enjoyed her stories.

You can keep tabs on Jessica in the following places:

Website/Blog     Twitter     Facebook     Goodreads     Google +   

 Amazon Author Page

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Science Fiction and Science Fiction Romance, The Book Pile and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spotlight: Jessica E. Subject and ‘Read For The Cure’

  1. I like the read for cure set up. 🙂
    Also gorgeous covers!

    • Diane Dooley says:

      Yes, me too! I love it when businesses have a social conscience.

      And I must admit I let out a little ‘squeee’ when I saw all the cover art against a white background. So pretty!

      Thanks for visiting, Niina!

    • Thanks, Niina! Yes, it’s just one of the reasons I’m proud to be published with Decadent. And I’m lucky to have had fabulous cover artists as well. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for having me today, Diane! 🙂

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    My pleasure, Jessica. I just had to ask you about your typical day. You always get so much accomplished. I wanted to know your secret *grin*

  4. Kaye Manro says:

    Read for the is a fantastic idea. And good for Jessica for including Celestial Seduction in this.

    Nice interview Diane. You have some great questions. Good answers Jessica!

Leave a Reply

