And Now For Something Completely Different…

To say that my writing tends to the dark side is too understate it just a tad. My horror short stories one would expect to be dark – and they are. My science fiction romances aren’t – quite honestly – very romantic. My characters tend to be bottom-feeders, criminals, losers,  psychotics and the like. But, to me, they fit well into the dangerous  future worlds I  imagine, and I try to give them some redeeming characteristics, whether it’s duty, love, faith or something positive. I also write contemporary romances, and these might be my biggest challenge: trying to write nice, normal people. I try. I really do, but it’s a challenge for me.

It was a very pleasant surprise then, when the Wild Rose Press made an offer on That Night – my contemporary romance novella set close to home in Upstate New York. I wrote it last winter alongside my author buddy, Ros Clarke. We read and critiqued each others’ stories and hers, ‘All I Want for Christmas‘, got picked up by Entangled Publishing.

With ‘That Night’ I think I might have succeeded in writing nice, normal characters. The working title was ‘Bookworms in Love,’ and books play a central role in the story. It won’t be released until 12/12/12 (easy date to remember, right?) but it’s up on Goodreads if you want to bookmark it for then.

Here’s the blurb and cover art:

Lindy Hopkins works early, works late, always gets the job done and never, ever has incredible one night stands with handsome coworkers. Until that night. But it’s okay. She’s just going to keep on pretending that it never happened.

Alex Anderson never imagined that buttoned-down workaholic Lindy had the ability to transform into a table-dancing, champagne-guzzling femme fatale. Until that night. And it’s not okay that she’s been giving him the coldest of shoulders ever since.

Neither are prepared to face the other, but they have no choice. They’ve each booked the company Catskill cabin for a few days before Christmas and are both too stubborn to budge. Over mulled wine and under a blanket of snow, it’s starting to look like that night might happen all over again. But this time Alex is playing for keeps, while Lindy is determined that no man will come before her career. Will they find that love is forever or will it be just another night to remember?

On my Facebook page I’ll be giving away copies of Blue Galaxy, Mako’s Bounty, Blue Nebula and That Night over the next couple of months. “Like” the page to get in on the action.

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Romance Novels, The Book Pile, The Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And Now For Something Completely Different…

  1. Dale Long says:

    Yes, you do do dark well.

    Love the set-up for the blurb. He said, she said kind of thing. Esspecially with the echoed statements, “But it’s ok” “But it’s not ok.”

    Congrats again!

  2. Congrats, Diane. 🙂 And good for you, I tried writing nice, normal people before, but it’s always just on the surface…in the end they always turned out twisted and dark. *sigh* Kudos to your many successes! And to the many more to come.

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    I hear the big sigh, Tracy! Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Leave a Reply

