The Next Big Thing

I’ve been tagged to participate in The Next Big Thing by the charmingly sassy Cathy Pegau. This blog hop is designed for writers to connect with readers and reveal a little bit about their current work in progress. So, here goes…

What is the working title of your book?

The working title is Dark Island. It’ll probably change.

What genre does your book fall under?

Gothic romance probably, albeit with more horror and sex than is typical.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I was born on the Isle of Jersey and I’ve wanted to set a book there for a long time. It’s a beautiful place, surrounded by dangerous waters, and with a long, fascinating history. I think it’s a perfect setting for something gothic. The time period is shortly after the Great War.


What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

An unconventional young woman marries a mysterious soldier against the wishes of his wealthy family, only to find they all know far more about her than she knows about herself.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Dead ones, of course. My female main character resembles silent movie-era misfit, Louise Brookes. My male main character looks like a young Richard Burton.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’ll probably be subbing it to a digital press. I haven’t yet decided which one.

How long does take you to write a first draft of your manuscript?

Once I’ve got everything figured out I go into a frenzy of typing: a few hours for a short story,  a few weeks for a novella, a few months for a novel. I’m pretty sure this will be a longish novella, perhaps a category-length novel.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I’m not sure. I think it’ll be something that could have been written by the bastard love child of Daphne du Maurier and Joe Hill.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Celtic music, ghost stories, island life, storms at sea, trench warfare, and a girl I once knew at school.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s about a rebellious woman, a damaged man, obsessive love, secrets from the past, and very bad weather. It’s gothic, so of course there will be a creepy old house and much running about in white nightgowns.

For next week check out who I tagged in The Next Big Thing:

The delightful Pippa Jay.

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Hops and Chains, Horror and Dark Fantasy, Romance Novels, The Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Next Big Thing

  1. Dale Long says:

    Oooo! Gothic horror set shortly after the Great War? On an island, no less? Awesome! I so want to read this. Sounds Great Gatsbyesque only better with More horror and more sex.
    I REALLY like this concept.

Leave a Reply

