Interview with Abner Senires: Author of ‘Kat and Mouse’

knm2_publicity_largeI’m delighted to welcome Abner Senires to my blog today. He’s a caffeine-fueled force of nature and a great guy. Be nice to him. Or feel the wrath of Kat and Mouse. Who are they? Well, read on!

Thanks for having me on the blog today. I’m honored.

I see you have questions for me. Let’s get cracking, then. Fire away.

Let’s start with the basics. Who are Kat and Mouse?

Kat and Mouse are two female mercenaries (in the stories I call then “ronin”) working out of the West Coast metroplex of Bay City in the year 2042. They take on a variety of jobs that require armed intervention. Shady jobs. The kind that take place under the radar and outside the law.

They really just want simple, get-in-get-out-get-paid kinds of jobs, but fate always seems to have something else in store for them. Every. Single. Time.

Can the Season 2 of Kat and Mouse be read without first reading Season 1?

Yes, I believe it can. Each episode of Season 2 is a stand-alone story, much like the episodes in Season 1. You can read Season 2 and enjoy the story arc.

But to really appreciate the connections mentioned in Season 2, I think reading of Season 1 is helpful.

And really, I just want you to buy Season 1–what?

Oh.

Did I just say that out loud?

Ahem.

Can we try that one again…?

Nope. Moving on. What are your future plans for the series?

Definitely more adventures for the Duo. It’s fun chronicling the escapades of these tywo crazy kids and I plan to keep writing as the long as the ideas keep coming through.

Season 3 of the serial will start up in mid-/late-November (hopefully) and will explore the consequences of an event that takes place at the tail end of Season 2.

Let’s chat about your influences. Who is your favorite sci-fi author?

It’s a tie between Isaac Asimov and Robert Heinlein. I grew up watching a lot of sci-fi (Star Wars, Star Trek, giant robot anime, etc) but Asimov was my gateway author to written sci-fi. His classic story “Nightfall” was the first prose sci-fi I read and it blew my 12-year-old mind away. Then came the novel I, Robot and then the Foundation novels.

I encountered Heinlein in high school (I was 16 or 17), first through Starship Troopers, then Moon is a Harsh Mistress, and on to Stranger in a Strange Land, his Future History stories in The Past Through Tomorrow, and, my favorite, The Cat Who Walks Through Walls.

You’re well known for handing out buckets of coffee to your Twitter followers. What happens when *you* don’t get your coffee?

I tend to get a little grumpy and snippy.

It’s best I get that morning cup right off the bat.

Or else people may die…

Duly noted! Changing subject. What were the last three books you read?

Poltergeist by Kat Richardson, Full Black by Brad Thor, and Legend by David Gemmell.

Confession time. What’s the weirdest thing that ever happened to you…while naked?

I’m afraid I can’t talk about it as it’s still classified.

And under investigation.

Next question.

Ooh, you ducked my favorite question! Let’s head back into safer territory. What’s your favorite sci-fi movie and why?

Dune. The David Lynch version. For one, it’s so over-the-top, from the costumes to the production design to the soundtrack (Brian Eno and Toto? Wow.). For another, the dialogue is so deliciously quoteable. My favorite line from the movie is and will always be: “Usul, we have wormsign the likes of which even God has never seen.”

And where else can you see Patrick Stewart, Jose Ferrer, Max Von Sydow, Jurgen Prochnow, and Sting (Sting, fer cryin’ out loud, wearing a chrome-plated art-deco speedo) all in one movie?

I give points to Lynch for even attempting that in a two-hour format.

Sting’s outfit in that one blinded me to the extent I can’t remember anything else about the movie!

Thanks for visiting, Abner. Wishing you a metric tons of sales!

 

AUTHOR BIO

Abner Senires writes cyberpunk pulp and probably drinks far too much coffee. He lives just outside Seattle, WA with his wife and a pair of rambunctious cats.

WEBSITE   |   BLOG   |   TWITTER

KAT AND MOUSE, GUNS FOR HIRE: PAYBACK

Things are heating up for near-future female mercenaries Kat and Mouse as they tackle even more hair-raising jobs for shadowy clients and run afoul of terrorists, freedom fighters, hired assassins, a Japanese crime syndicate, and warring punkergangs. And smack in the middle of this, an enemy from the past is back and wants revenge on the duo.

Now these two sassy sisters-in-arms must fight back and survive…and still get their jobs done.

Kindle   |   Smashwords/epub

About Diane Dooley

Writer, Mother, Geek
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Blog Tours, Hops and Chains, Science Fiction and Science Fiction Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with Abner Senires: Author of ‘Kat and Mouse’

  1. Dale Long says:

    Ok, now I have to check this series out. Thanks *is buried under an avalage of books to read* Ow.

  2. Dale Long says:

    Avalanche, not avalange.

  3. Oh, this series sounds very interesting! And Diane, I always love your fun, irreverent questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

